Where Have I Been All Your Life?

Hi Beautifuls!

I know it’s been ages since I lasted posted. For those that are not aware, my dad passed away last year after 2+ years of battling NK/T-cell lymphoma. I shut the business down during that time because I needed to focus on family.  Lots of lessons learned on that journey, I tell ya’, but those stories are for future posts.

During the time I wasn’t actively selling or making product, I was thinking about my life, my business and where I want to go with both. The most consuming thought all that time was one of self-sufficiency. I want to be able to provide for my family’s needs (food, water, shelter, and medicine) should life as we know it change drastically. Having seen Hurricane Katrina up close & personal, I know all too well what might happen if the unthinkable does happen, usually in the blink of an eye.

So to kick things off I will be participating in a three day homesteading course next month.  I hope to come away with a lot of cute goatinformation, particularly on beekeeping, raising dairy goats, organic gardening, herbs, and growing an orchard.  I’ll also be schooled in fencing (building them, no épée involved), barns, sheds, and water supply. Paw Ingles won’t have anything on me by the end of those three days!

Another step I will be taking is to become a certified herbalist. I firmly believe that the Creator has supplied us with everything we need here on earth, including medicine. Indeed, many of today’s pharmaceuticals are either plant-based or are a synthetic of plant material.  Why use synthetic when I can grow the real deal?

Oh, that reminds me! If you know of anyone in south Louisiana that is a forager or knows how to forage, please let me know. I’d love nothing more than to cook up a dinner I’ve found out in the woods.

Business-wise, my personal goals dovetail nicely into the new direction my business will be heading. As I learn more aElderberry blossomsbout how I can keep my family healthy with medicinal herbs, trees, shrubs and flowers, I’m learning how beneficial these things can be in personal care products. And the best part of all? I will be growing the botanicals in my own garden and, infusing or decocting them in my kitchen! Doing so means I will know exactly how the botanicals have been raised and processed, providing even more confidence in the quality of ingredients used in my products.

Not sure when the website will be up and running again but I will be participating in Highland Nights again this year at The Stockade Bed & Breakfast.  Save the date-Friday, November 14, 2014.  Y’all know Janice is the queen of passing a good time, right?

About SimplyHomestead

What started out as a mother's quest to find an natural lip treatment for her son has turned into a flourishing handmade toiletry business. Handmade at Homestead produces fine handmade bath products, including moisture-replenishing sugar and salt scrubs, glycerin soaps, bath salts, and more. Unless information is quoted, all content is protected under US Copyright laws.
This entry was posted in Louisiana. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

