Hydrogen Peroxide in honey-who knew?

kişisel resim

Image via Wikipedia

“That buzzing-noise means something,  and the only reason for making a buzzing-noise that I know of is because you’re a bee… And the only reason for being a bee that I know of is making honey….. And the only reason for making honey is so as I can eat it.” Winnie the Pooh 

Y’all know how I love my honey, right? Well, imagine my delight when I read that September is “National Honey Month.” Ranks right up there with National Cupcake Day if you ask me! 

Nearly every day, I learn something new about nature’s wonder product. Not that it would matter to Winnie the Pooh, but it turns out, there’s more to natural honey than its good taste. 

Medicinal Properties of Honey 

Honey has been known for its healing properties for thousands of years. Up until World War II, honey was used for its antibacterial properties in treating wounds. But then along came penicillin and other antibiotic drugs, so honey’s medicinal qualities took a back seat. 

That is, until now. Doctors and researchers are taking a more in-depth look at the medical benefits of honey. 

“It is a common observation…in medical journals that numerous benefits result from using honey to dress wounds,” says New Zealand biochemist, Dr. Peter Molan. The potent antibacterial activity of honey keeps wounds free from infection, and the anti-inflammatory action of honey reduces pain and improves circulation, which hastens the healing process. 

According to Molan, “In all honeys, there is – to different levels – hydrogen peroxide produced from an enzyme that bees add to the nectar.” 

Wow, hydrogen peroxide in honey? 

I can attest to healing qualities of honey. I can’t quite remember what I was doing but a few weeks ago I ended up with a splinter in my left index finger; tried and tried to get the splinter out, was kind of sure I did, so I left it alone. 

The next day I noticed the cut had become red, infected and it hurt. I grabbed the bottle of honey from local beekeeper, John Harbo, and rubbed a little on the wound. 

I promise you, when I looked at my finger the next day, the redness and pain were gone, and the wound was almost completely healed. I didn’t even apply that much honey to the cut. 

One important thing of note: the most beneficial honey for wound care is local, raw honey. 

In future posts, I will look at other beneficial and amazing qualities of honey. Have you ever used honey for anything other than a sweetener? 

About SimplyHomestead

What started out as a mother's quest to find an natural lip treatment for her son has turned into a flourishing handmade toiletry business. Handmade at Homestead produces fine handmade bath products, including moisture-replenishing sugar and salt scrubs, glycerin soaps, bath salts, and more. Unless information is quoted, all content is protected under US Copyright laws.
This entry was posted in Education, Ingredients, Louisiana and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hydrogen Peroxide in honey-who knew?

  1. Midwives have long used honey to help new mothers heal after childbirth.

  2. I never thought about that but it makes totaly sense.

Leave a Reply

