Another Amazing DIY project-Soft Scrubby Cleanser

I had so much fun with the Moist Towelettes the other day that I decided to try another DIY project.

Today I tried making and using a soft scrubbing cleanser.  This recipe is so easy-peasy-lemon-squeezy it’s a crime we don’t all make and use this.

Put a small amount of baking soda into a bowl.  Mix liquid soap (I used liquid castille but I’m sure conventional dishwashing liquid would work as well) into baking soda to form a paste the consistency of frosting.  If you make more than a single-use batch, try adding some vegetable glycerin to keep the paste from drying out.

Scoop the mixture onto a sponge and scrub away! I tried it on my kitchen sink and counters and it worked well.  I’m going to try it in my bathtub tonight before I bath.  Word is, this works great on the bathtub because it rinses clean and doesn’t leave any grit.

Can you think of any modifications that would improve this? I havea few in mind but want to hear from you first!

About SimplyHomestead

What started out as a mother's quest to find an natural lip treatment for her son has turned into a flourishing handmade toiletry business. Handmade at Homestead produces fine handmade bath products, including moisture-replenishing sugar and salt scrubs, glycerin soaps, bath salts, and more. Unless information is quoted, all content is protected under US Copyright laws.
This entry was posted in DIY Recipes, easy recipes for kids, Louisiana and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another Amazing DIY project-Soft Scrubby Cleanser

  1. Steph says:

    add some 20 mule team borax to it too….. I clean with that alot and LOVE it.

  2. I was wondering about using borax. Wasn’t sure if it would make it more abrasive. I’ll try it in the next batch and see how it goes.

  3. This is a nice recipe. If you are looking to turn it antibacterial, you can add a few drops of Tea Tree Essential oil.

    Keep up the great blog!
    Rene

  4. Great idea. Thanks, Rene!

Leave a Reply

