WOW-what a week

This has certainly been a week! Not bad, just crazy. 

Tuesday saw my first of two cataract surgeries, one eye per week, second one next Tuesday.  I know, I’m only in my 40’s, I shouldn’t be addressing cataracts at this point in my life. However, I have them and need them removed.

Shortly after getting home from surgery #1, I received a phone call that the InRegister/225’s Health and Beauty Guide was out and it included a feature story on me and Handmade at Homestead.  I knew it was coming out sometime this week, but wasn’t sure of the exact date. 

Today, my sister called to let me know that I was featured in an article in Baton Rouge Business Report on Mompreneurs.  Boy, do I feel like I hit the jackpot!

Reading these two articles got me thinking of how far my little business has come since it was created.  I remembered back to 2001 and  the two recipes that inspired me to create a line of natural products for bath, body, and home: my all natural lip balm and my all purpose household cleanser.

For obvious reasons, I can’t share my recipe for my lip balm, but I would like to share my recipe for the cleanser and the reason why I started using it. 

First, the reason:  I live directly across the river from the 4th largest ExxonMobil plant in the world.  I also have an oil refinery as a very close neighbor.  I couldn’t then, nor can I now, imagine what  my family and I inhale on a daily basis.  At some point I questioned why I was paying for household cleansers that were filled with chemicals, when I was getting God-knows-what in my system just through the mere act of breathing!?!?!??

So, I was intrigued when I came across this recipe.  It’s easy to make, it’s inexpensive and it’s non-toxic:

2T vinegar
1 t Borax
Hot water
10 drops of essential oil, I like lavender-not only is it a disinfectant, it covers the vinegar smell.

In a 16 oz spray bottle put vinegar, borax and hot water-don’t fill bottle completely.  Swish around until borax has dissolved.  Add the essential oil and fill the rest of the bottle with hot water.  Shake before and during use.

Do not use the cleanser on glass or stainless steel. The essential oils will leave streaks.  You can always omit the essential oil if you’d like a streak-free cleanser.  You can find borax under it’s trade name, 20 Mule Team, in the laundry detergent section of your favorite grocery store.

Give this a try and let me know what you think.  Do you have a favorite “green” cleanser? If so, share it with us!

About SimplyHomestead

What started out as a mother's quest to find an natural lip treatment for her son has turned into a flourishing handmade toiletry business. Handmade at Homestead produces fine handmade bath products, including moisture-replenishing sugar and salt scrubs, glycerin soaps, bath salts, and more. Unless information is quoted, all content is protected under US Copyright laws.
This entry was posted in DIY Recipes, Life, Louisiana and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

