Oops, I did it again…

Oops, I did it again. I fell asleep in full makeup. 

Yesterday was a long day as we get up before dawn to make final preparations, load up and head to the market.  After we get home, I usually take a 20 minute power nap and then get up to prepare dinner for the family.

My head hit the pillow at 5:30pm Saturday.

Time when I lifted my head from the pillow? 4:15am Sunday…… morning!!!

Yuck-O.

I could feel layer of dirt and grime from my forehead to my chin. I swear I heard my pores screaming for help…..

After a brief session of self-loathing, I reasoned that now would be the perfect time to work on some ideas for a facial cleanser that had been roaming around my head.

I headed to the kitchen and got to work.

I dickered around with several ingredient combinations, proportions, and the like. All I had succeeded in doing was creating a huge mess! 

Just when I was about to give up, the thought hit me: “Keep it simple, stupid.”

Below is the fruit of my experimentation: an inexpensive, extremely simple, yet effective facial cleanser.

Sweet-N-Sour Facial Cleanser

4 Tbsp Sour Cream
2 Tbsp Honey
Cornstarch – optional

Thoroughly blend the sour cream and honey. If you’d like, you can add a touch of cornstarch to thicken the mixture. The mixture I used to cleanse my face did not contain cornstarch. I was fine with the milky consistency using just the sour cream and honey.

Apply to your face and massage for a minute or two.  Rinse with warm water.

With some hesitation, I used the mixture to remove my eye makeup, too.  No problem with doing that at all.

To see just how effective this cleanser was, I ran a white washcloth over my eyes and face after I rinsed.  Not a spec of foundation or mascara to be found.  I deemed my experiment a success!

If you have left over mixture, do what I did: use it as a dressing for fruit! If you plan on using the cleanser again the next day, you can cover and refrigerate but discard within 48 hours if you do not use it all.

Why Sour Cream?

Sour cream, and all dairy products, contains natural lactic acid, which will leave your skin feeling soft and smooth.  Lactic acid is also an effective and mild alpha hydroxy acid.

Why Honey?

Honey’s natural antioxidant and anti-microbial properties help to protect the skin from the damage of the sun’s rays, supports the skin’s ability to rejuvenate and refresh depleted skin, and absorbs impurities from the pores on the skin, making it an ideal cleansing agent.

I encourage you to use my recipe as a base and play around with additional additives and essential oils. Let me know what you try and how you like it. Click here to email me your thoughts.

About SimplyHomestead

What started out as a mother's quest to find an natural lip treatment for her son has turned into a flourishing handmade toiletry business. Handmade at Homestead produces fine handmade bath products, including moisture-replenishing sugar and salt scrubs, glycerin soaps, bath salts, and more. Unless information is quoted, all content is protected under US Copyright laws.
This entry was posted in Louisiana. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

