UPDATE-Eating Healthy by Shopping at a Warehouse Club

We were not able to get to our local Sam’s Club the day after I placed the order.  I was somewhat concerned because I ordered a lot of frozen goods.

I called to ask how to handle the situation and was told all refrigerated and frozen food is kept in the cooler or freezer until you retrieve your order. You are to report to the customer service desk to get your goods-they bring them out to you.

Relief!

When we arrived at the store, we decided to do the little shopping that we had to do first, and then headed to the Member Services counter to pick up our order.  I was told where we could find the non-perishable portion of our order and the frozen and refrigerated goods would be brought to us.

The non-perishable goods were already in a shopping cart with my name on it, including a note letting us know one cart was in the freezer and the other in the cooler.  The note also stated that they did not have the chicken breasts that I ordered-would have been nice to know when placing the order-but it was just as well because I didn’t have enough room in my freezer for them.

Check out was a breeze!! I just handed my order slip and my membership card to the cashier, he scanned the barcode on the page, I handed him my money, and we were out the door.  Since nothing needed to be scanned (hubby had purchased the items not included in our order while we were waiting for the frozen food to arrive), I was able to leave everything in the basket and head to the car.

When I got home, I realized that I did not have the eggs but I had paid for them.  Apparently, the store associate only got the cart of the freezer and the eggs were in the cooler.  As it would cost me more in gas to go back and get the eggs, I decided to chalk it up to a learning experience. Surely I had sampled more than $4.88 worth of stuff over the years…

I can’t tell you how excited I am to know this grocery shopping option exists.  Hopefully not cruising the aisles will help cut down on the amount of junk food and carbs that find their way into my kitchen.  Matter of fact, I’m going to see if the same option is available at other local stores I frequent.

Yes, I will definitely use the Click & Pull method of shopping again, but with these few things in mind:

  1. It takes at least 24 hours for your order to be processed, so plan accordingly;
  2. Make sure all of your items are accounted for before you leave the store;
  3. If you do have to add things to your shopping cart that are not part of your order, do that first, then retrieve your order. Your frozen and refrigerated items will remain that way until you are ready to leave the store.

If you try this option, let me know how it works for you.

About SimplyHomestead

What started out as a mother's quest to find an natural lip treatment for her son has turned into a flourishing handmade toiletry business. Handmade at Homestead produces fine handmade bath products, including moisture-replenishing sugar and salt scrubs, glycerin soaps, bath salts, and more. Unless information is quoted, all content is protected under US Copyright laws.
This entry was posted in Life, Louisiana and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

