Beauty from the Garden-The Eyes Have It

I’ve been doing a lot of work around our home the last few weeks. As with any old home, I inhaled a lot of dust while I was working. Wouldn’t you know, the dust aggravated my allergies and  the next morning, I woke up with puffy eyes.

sliced cuke crop_3230Cucumbers have long been known to sooth puffy eyes.  I have to admit, it took me a very long time to try this well-known remedy but I became hooked once I did.   It’s so easy, I can’t believe I didn’t try this sooner!

You’ll need about 1/8 cucumber that has been refrigerated.  Slice the cucumber to fit over your eyes. Two slices, one per eye, will suffice but I like to slice about 10 paper-thin slices and use several on each eye.  It doesn’t matter which you choose, both amounts work remarkable well. Spritz your eyes with water. Lying down, place cucumber slices on your eyes and leave in place for 10 minutes.

Here’s another great eye treatment that comes straight from the garden.  All you need is a potato that has been refrigerated  and a knife.  Here’s what you do:

Slice the potato to fit over your eyes. Just like the cucumber, you can usepotato two slices, one per eye, or five to ten thin slices, several for each eye.  Spritz eyes with water, lie down and place the potato slices on your eyes and leave on for at least 10 minutes for best results.

These are two of the easiest “from the garden” puffy eye remedies I’ve found. Why don’t you give one, or both, a try?  I’d love to hear back from you once you do.

About SimplyHomestead

What started out as a mother's quest to find an natural lip treatment for her son has turned into a flourishing handmade toiletry business. Handmade at Homestead produces fine handmade bath products, including moisture-replenishing sugar and salt scrubs, glycerin soaps, bath salts, and more. Unless information is quoted, all content is protected under US Copyright laws.
This entry was posted in DIY Recipes, Louisiana. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beauty from the Garden-The Eyes Have It

  1. Brittany says:

    thank you!

Leave a Reply

